Discussion among superintendents began in 1986 about the possibility of forming an Alberta association of golf course superintendents.This interest led to an arranged meeting of four superintendents from across the province to explore the possible advantages of forming such an association.Those four were:Jim Ross, Stony Plain Golf Course, Jon Clark, Silver Springs Golf & C.C., Dave Whitell, Glendale Golf & C.C., and Ron Hume, Earl Grey Golf Club.This resulted in a survey sent to all Alberta superintendents in July of 1986.The results indicated strong support by many for a professional Superintendent's Association.Many meetings resulted in the formation of the AGSA, and by-laws were registered with the Alberta Corporate Registry in May of 1987.

The purpose was to promote the position of the Golf Course Superintendent and to achieve more recognition for the Superintendent as an authority on golf course maintenance, cultural requirements of fine turfgrasses and its environment, and to promote fraternity, benevolence, justice and mutual understanding to and for all its members.

The Founding Members were:

Jim Ross, Stony Plain Golf Course

Walt Gooder, Edmonton Country Club

Bob Onyshcuk, The Links at Spruce Grove

David Boyd, Windermere Golf & C.C.

Dave Whitell, Glendale Golf & C.C.

Wayne Brown,  Red Deer Golf & C.C.

Each of these founding members contributed an initial $25 as start-up expenses for the association.It was quickly realized that this would probably not cover the expected expenses.So, each of these people contributed another $25 and agreed that each of them would contact three other superintendents for $25 from them as well.      The first annual meeting was held at Red Deer Golf & C.C. on March 17th, 1987.By the time of the second meeting in April 1987, held at Edmonton Country Club, there were 28 paid up members.    At that meeting it was decided that any superintendent who had paid the $50 membership fee, by the close of the July 14th, 1987 meeting, would be considered a "Charter Member".


Those Charter Members were:  Andrew Aucoin, Bob Bach, Don Bilyk, Bernie Blais, Neil Blayney, Garry Bodnar, David Boyd, Wayne Brown, Ray Buffel, Jon Clark, Rick David, Carmon Dewald, Pierre deMoissac, Al Derkoch, Kerry Ditchburn, Ron Doherty, Glenn Genereux, Walt Gooder, Brent Goodwin, Ray Guimont, Charlie Herder, Len Heyworth, Ron Hume, Brian Jackson, Dave Keith, Steve Kerbrat, Tim Knutson, Jay Leach, Dan Marchand, Dean Morrison, Rick Munroe, Max Nelson, Ken Olsvik, Bob Onyschuk, Dean Piller, Tod Puddicombe, Jim Ross, Ed Sims, Garth Sjolie, Matt Spokas, Peter Stepanko, Paul Turenne, and Dave Whitell.