In the year 2000 the AGSA Board of Directors formed a committee to develop a program that will promote the AGSA and recognize Golf Superintendents (AGSA members) that excel at their profession.

The committee developed this program with equality in mind.  The focus was to ensure every qualified class 'A' AGSA member has equal opportunity to achieve this recognition.

Distinguished Service Award Winners

2016   Keith Blayney - Edmonton Petroleum Golf & Country Club

2015   Barb Alexander - AGSA

2014   Paul Dodson - Silver Springs Golf & C.C.

2013   Dave Boyd -  Heritage Pointe Golf Club

2012   Wayne Brown  - ret. Red Deer Golf & C.C.

2011   Bruce Constable - Woodside Golf Course

2010   Jay Leach - CottonWood Golf Course

2009   Ron Hume - Silverwing Links Golf Course

2008   Glenn Genereux - Windermere Golf & C.C.

2007   James Beebe - Priddis Greens Golf & C.C.

2006   Walt Gooder - Country Hills Golf Club

2005   Dean Morrison - Calgary Golf & Country Club

2004   Jon Clark - Bearspaw Country Club

2003   John Ing - Carstairs Community Golf Club

2002   David Sluchinski - Drayton Valley Golf Club

2001   Debbie Amirault - Mayfair Golf & C.C.

2000   Andrew AuCoin - Connaught Golf Club

Nomination Procedure

  • Nominator must have approval from the nominated superintendent prior to submitting application.
  • Application must be signed by two class 'A' AGSA members.
  • Nominator must fill out application with the nominated superintendent.
  • Application deadline October 31st.

Criteria for AGSA Distinguished Service Award

  • Class A member
  • Minimum 3 years experience with formal education
  • Minimum 5 years experience as a Class 'A' without formal education
  • Community involvement
  • Contribution to the industry
  • Involvement in the AGSA
  • Mentorship
  • Environmental stewardship
  • Involvement in research
  • Coping with adversity
  • Rapport with other golf course management staff
  • Fellowship