Walt Gooder Distinguished Service Award

A Brief History of Walt Gooder

Some of Walt’s accomplishments:

1982    President, Canadian Golf Superintendents Association (CGSA)

1984    Founding member, Alberta Turfgrass Research Foundation (ATRF)

1986    Founding member, Alberta Golf Superintendents Association (AGSA)

1988    Master Superintendent designation, CGSA

1997    CGSA Superintendent of the Year

2006    AGSA Distinguished Service Award

2008    CGSA John B. Steel Distinguished Service Award


Walt Gooder Distinguished Service Award Winner – Jason Clouston


Walter (Walt) Gooder was one of the founding superintendents who formed the Alberta Golf Superintendents Association (AGSA) in 1986. Walt had a distinguished career as a golf superintendent, becoming President of the Canadian Golf Superintendents Association (CGSA) in 1982, sitting on the founding Board of the Alberta Turfgrass Research Foundation (ATRF) in 1984, winning the CGSA Superintendent of the Year award in 1997, winning the AGSA Distinguished Service Award in 2006 and the CGSA’s highest award, the John B. Steele award in 2008. He mentored many AGSA superintendents and profoundly influenced the golf course profession, both provincially and nationally.


On November 22nd, the AGSA held our AGM. Jason Clouston was presented the 2022 Walt Gooder Distinguished Service Award, the highest honour within the Alberta Superintendent Industry. Jason has always been a strong advocate of the association and profession and is well-respected within the industry. In 2010 Jason was voted in as President of the AGSA, and was instrumental in leading and promoting the Alberta Golf Superintendents Association to where it is today. 


“We are extremely honoured, presenting Jason Clouston with the 2022 AGSA Walt Gooder Distinguished Service award. His passion, dedication and professionalism exemplify the association and the superintendent role.” – Jeff Lefebvre, AGSA President


Congratulations Jason!


Past Recipients

2022Jason Clouston
2021Hugh Greene
2020Dustin Zdan
2019Wade Peckham
2018Terry Shinkewski
2017Wade Bishop
2016Keith Blayney
2015Barb Alexander
2014Paul Dodson
2013David Boyd
2012Wayne Brown
2011Bruce Constable
2010Jay Leach
2009Ron Hume
2008Glenn Genereux
2007James Beebe
2006Walt Gooder
2005Dean Morrison
2004Jon Clark
2003John Ing
2002David Sluchinski
2001Debbie Amirault
2000Andrew AuCoin